Longridge CC’s league and cup success

Jon Millward was one of the Longridge bowlers to take a wicket against New Longton
Jon Millward was one of the Longridge bowlers to take a wicket against New Longton
Share this article

Longridge CC made it nine wins from 10 in the Moore and Smalley Palace Shield Premier Division with a six-wicket win against New Longton.

Having chosen to field first, Longridge saw their bowlers take charge by dismissing their opponents for 109.

Openers Paul Fairhurst (24) and Sajid Nalbandh (14) got starts for New Longton but neither could turn them into something more substantial.

Instead, it was the Longridge bowlers who dominated with eight batters dismissed in single figures.

Once Tom Howarth had accounted for Fairhurst and Matt Greenall for Nalbandh, they set to work on the rest of their team-mates.

Greenall dismissed Lee Bolton (5) as he ended with 2-25, while Howarth saw off Ben Simpkins (8), Adam Gillibrand (4) and Husein Yusuf (2) as he claimed 4-39.

Jonathan Millward was also among the wickets, taking 1-30 with Mohsin Modhi (3) his victim before Rory McDowell polished off the lower order.

He had Paul Haydock (0) and Samuel Steeple (21) both LBW before ending the innings with the wicket of Chris Hadfield (0) to return figures of 3-9.

Longridge’s reply began with them losing Neil Holden (0) but Kyle Helm and Josh Mullin steadied the ship.

Helm was eventually out for 23, becoming another wicket for Haydock (2-31), while Mullin (11) and Dan Wilkinson Jnr (9) fell victim to Steeple (2-24).

That was as good as it got for New Longton as James Whitehead (29 not out) and Howarth (24 not out) teamed up and guided Longridge to 110-4 in reply.

Longridge CC’s firsts had further success on Sunday when they reached the last four of the Meyler Cup.

Facing BAC/EE Preston at Newsham, Longridge were victorious by 72 runs after their batters laid the foundation for victory.

Although they lost Neil Holden without scoring, Longridge scored freely with Helm hitting 36 and Mullin 21 before both fell to Saif Vohra.

However, those wickets only brought Wilkinson Jnr and Whitehead to the crease as they led the way.

Both made 74 with Whitehead ending the innings undefeated, while Wilkinson Jnr and Howarth (1) both fell victim to Joe Thomas (3-37).

Ian Simpson ended 20 not out as Longridge compiled 251-5 from their 40 overs.

Simpson then picked up an early wicket in reply by bowling Declan Billington (0).

Daniel Wilson dismissed George Thomas (11) and Simpson picked up the wicket of Vohra (32) before Jack Mansfield and Imran Jangar struck half-centuries.

Howarth eventually got the better of Mansfield (51) and Jangar ended 53 not out with BAC/EE Preston eventually restricted to 179-4.