Fylde target chased in style by Longridge

Longridge captain Ian Simpson
Longridge captain Ian Simpson
Share this article

Longridge stormed to an eight wicket victory over Fylde.

Captain Ian Simpson picked up four wickets as the visitors restricted Fylde to 175 for 9. The skipper snared opener Edward Bailey for just seven runs.

But Fylde recovered as Paul Willis (40) and Joe McMillan (48) steadied the ship.

Longridge finally broke the partnership as Alex Mason sent Paul Willis packing and Ian Simpson clean bowled McMillan.

David Crawforth came in and made 30 before he fell victim to Matt Greenall as Longridge started to rattle through Fylde’s innings.

Rory McDowell clean bowled Stephen Wright for five, trapped Daniel Smith lbw for 13 and snared Anthony Ellison for nine.

Michael Watkinson (10) became Ian Simpson’s third victim and he caught and bowled Matthew Johnson for one as Harrison Ardron ended the 45-over innings at the crease on one with Andrew Sullivan yet to bat.

Longride’s opening duo John Simpson and Joshua McDowell gave the visitors’ the perfect start.

John Simpson hit nine fours but he was just denied a deserved 50. The batsman was trapped lbw by Ellison on 49 leaving Longridge 82-1. James Fairclough joined Joshua McDowell at the crease and the opener fell for 42. Fairclough saw Longridge over the line in just 28.4 overs as he finished 47 not out with Daniel Wilkinson Junior also not out on eight.