Defending champion Daz wins Wilfrid’s darts comp

Share this article

After eight weeks of qualification, the 8th Annual Wilfrid’s Panel Darts Competition Finals Night was held on Friday (February 27) with the final 16 lining up for the £1000 first prize, which was won by defending champion Daz Latham.

This was a close final between Daz, from Heywood and Rob Rickwood, from Burnley, who was the competitions’s 2013 winner.

Daz had a 92 average in the final and Rob produced 88, the score being 4-3.

The last 16 results had been: Daz Place 2, Joe Lynch 3; Steve Kirkby 2, Dave Place 3; Ryan Hoggarth 3, Martin Smith 0; Daz Latham 3, Malcolm Taylor 1; Lee Holden 3, Paul Osmotherly 0; Mick Taylor 2, Billy Brooks 3; Graham Willets 2, Robert Rickwood 3; Lewis Island 0, Jason Dewhurst 3.

The quarter final resulots were: Joe Lynch 3, Dave Place 0; Ryan Hoggarth 1, Daz Latham 3; Lee Holden 3, Billy Brooks 0; Rob Rickwood 3, Jason Dewhurst 0 and in the semi finals they were: Joe Lynch 2, Daz Latham 3; Lee Holden 0, Rob Rickwood 3.

In the Ladies competition there was another good final between the Burnley super league team mates Heather Draper and Katie Hoggarth, Heather winning with Heather winning the competition for the fifth time 3-1.

Ladies quarter final results were: Claire Wearden 3, Wendy McCall 0; Emma McNicol 1, Heather Draper 3; Katy Hoggarth 3, Dani Platt 2; Charlot Podmore-Nappin 3, Ruth Hartley 0 and in the semi finals they were: Claire Wearden 2, Heather Draper 3; Katie Hoggarth 3, Charlott Podmore-Nappin 0.