Longridge Town Council set to welcome three new faces

Share this article

Longridge Town Council will have a different make-up when it meets tonight for the first time since last week’s election, with three new faces.

Two Labour candidates - Mike Everett and Greg Priest - have gained seats, as has Rosemary Beacham - who is not affiliated to any party.

Coun Everett, of Willows Park Lane; Coun Priest, of Highfield Drive, Longridge and Coun Beacham, of Redwood Drive, Longridge, will take up their seats at tonight’s meeting of Longridge Town Council at the Old Station at 7pm.

The rest of the council, with the exception of Karl Kirkup, retained their seats.

Longridge Town Council comprises three wards - Dilworth, Derby and Alston - with four seats in each.

Elections were held for Derby and Dilworth, after five candidates put their names forward for both.

Longridge town mayor elect for 2015-16, Sarah Rainford, who is due to take up the mayoral office tonight, kept her seat in the Derby ward, coming third with 452 votes, with former town major Rose Adamson polling 588 votes; Stuart Carefoot 555 and Greg Priest 421.

Nick Stubbs, also a Labour candidate, failed to gain a seat representing the Derby ward with 344 votes, coming in fifth place.

In the Dilworth ward, former mayor Rupert Swarbrick polled 767 votes; Stephen Ashcroft 582; Mike Everett 492 and Rosemary Beacham 485.

Former Longridge town councillor, Karl Kirkup, failed to retain his seat with 470 votes, coming in fifth place.

Councillors Paul Byrne; David Moon and Jim Rogerson (all former town mayors) and Stuart Tyrer will return to the council automatically, as they were the only candidates who put themselves forward for Alston ward’s four seats.

All the elected town councillors, with the exception of councillors Everett and Priest, do not describe themselves as being affiliated to any political party for the council.

Couns Everett and Priest were also candidates for Ribble Valley Council, as was Nick Stubbs, but did not gain seats.